It has been awhile since I’ve done a book review so bear with me…

Book Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Length: 318

Began Reading: December 22, 2017

Finished Reading: January 13, 2018

Rating: 4/5 stars

Favorite Character: Audrey Rose Wadsworth (of course)

Least Favorite Character(s): Superintendent Blackburn and Lord Edmund Wadsworth

Stalking Jack the Ripper cover

Warning Spoilers are ahead! 

I picked up this book months ago for a few reasons:

  1. I recognized it at the bookstore from bookstagram (yes I realize that is a bad habit and I will end up with millions of books this way).
  2. James Patterson is the publisher
  3. Who doesn’t love Jack the Ripper?

Right off the bat, I fell in love with Audrey Rose and her spunky personality. She is a wonderful lead female character who doesn’t let society or her family influence her decisions which is BIG considering the time period this takes place.

Before I say anything else…THOMAS CRESSWELL. If it wasn’t for bad boy super flirt Thomas Cresswell, I am not sure if I would have made it through the middle of the book. That’s not because I didn’t like the middle of the plot its just I knew what was coming and I wanted it. Maniscalco tried keeping her readers in suspense by getting rid of the killing while Audrey’s father was out in the country, but I just found that part lacking suspense. But, Thomas Cresswell drove me forward because I wanted to know how their relationship was going to continue to grow.

I am 110% without a doubt on Team Cresswell. Why can’t all boys be dark and gloomy and romantic and mysterious like he is? Hands down my new fictional crush.

I was convinced at several points during this novel that I knew who Jack the Ripper was. I was always wrong. I had three characters that I kept switching between Thomas Cresswell, Superintendent Blackburn, and Lord Wadsworth. I NEVER would have guessed or even suspected her brother. Like, I am still not over it. He kept their DEAD mother in their house for YEARS and killed the scum of London for their organs to try to bring her back to life. I can’t even begin to explain how messed up this is, but I loved it. I just feel so bad for Audrey because not only did she lose her mother years ago, she had to basically go through all of that pain again by seeing her dead mother’s corpse being poked and prodded at. Now, she is motherless and brotherless.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars because of how much I struggled to continue to read it in the middle but ranked it highly because I was not able to figure out the ending and I was surprised at the end. I will be buying the next installment of the series: Hunting Prince Dracula.

Until next time,

Shannon xx

Leave a comment